District Jails are located in District headquarters where Central Prisons are not established.  There are 9 District Jails in the State.  The District Jails admit convict prisoners sentenced upto 2 years and undertrail prisoners belonging to the District including those transferred by the Sub Jails.  The District Jails are headed by the officers of rank of Deputy Superintendent of Jails.  The authorized capacity of District Jail ranges from 200 to 500.  District Jails are characterized by large number of remand prisoners and undertrial prisoners.  Women prisoners of the District are also confined in separate enclosures which are looked after by women prison staff.  Since the number of convicts is less, no work programmes are implemented.  The main work in District Jails relate to production of prisoners before the courts of the District.

The locations and Year of Establishment of the District Jails
Sr.No Jail Year of Establishment
1 Vijayawada 1976
2 Guntur 1920
3 Anantapur 1998
4 Ongole 2008
5 Srikakulam 2009
6 Chittoor 2012
7 Eluru 2012
8 Kurnool 2013
Designed, Developed and Hosted by
National Informatics Centre
Andhra Pradesh State Centre, Hyderabad